Pure Protein Tuna Pies

I decided to try a pure protein weekend. I’ve heard a lot about the weight loss kick start and wanted to see for myself if it works. If you’re unfamiliar with the idea of it, basically all you can eat for two days is protein foods which include egg whites, lean meat and fish and protein shakes made with water; that’s about it. Meal sizes are meant to be about 100g for women and about 50g for snacks.
It’s been easy to stick to, in the way that the rules are so clear but it’s also been difficult. I’ve experienced dizziness and deflated energy levels but I’ve also hurt my back, so I’m not needing energy to go to the gym. If I was going to the gym these last couple of days I don’t think it would be worth it.
I’ve basically been eating only chicken, tuna, egg whites and protein shakes but here’s a recipe that made dinner last night slightly less boring.
I can not wait until tomorrow morning to weigh myself and see if this actually made any difference! Although I still strongly believe the number on the scales is an inaccurate (and sometimes depressing) way to track your progress.

Ingredients:
4 egg whites
1 x 95g can of tuna in spring water
Mixed herbs

Method:
Preheat oven to 175oC
Using an electric mixer, beat egg whites until bubbly

Drain tuna and add to egg whites
Add mixed herbs and gently mix in
Poor mixture into mini pie tins or any other suitable tin (You could make even smaller ones with a cupcake tray)
Bake until cooked all through
TIP: To check if they’re cooked shake the tin and see if any uncooked egg white breaks through the top

Leave a Reply

